SQL Server 2008

Was fortunate enough to get my hands on SQL Server 2008 Developer Edition yesterday. Installed this last night on my DELL Vostro 1510 alongside Visual Studio 2008 SP1.

First impressions are quite good. The installation was really smooth. Noticed that they now provide an option to configure Reporting Services alongside SharePoint. In SQL 2005 this took a little bit of extra configuration work to get it working correctly so this was the first welcome change I noticed.

Once up and running I was able to get a quick look around, immediately noticing the new inclusion of Spatial / Geography Datatypes and Hierarchical ID Datatypes – again all welcome changes. They’ve also updated the Query editor to include IntelliSense – Hooray!!!

Will hopefully post some more on the subject moving forward. Have got my hands on a new SQL Server 2008 book: Beginning SQL Server 2008 for Developers: from Novice to Professional, published by APRESS. I’m not a huge fan of their books, but is the only one I could readily get my hands on at the minute. Will take a read through anyway.

So much to learn and so little time. Am also studying away at IIS7, W2k8, C# 2008, LINQ, and ASP.NET 3.5 amongst a bunch of other stuff. As well as that I’ve been working away on a personal ASP.NET web app I’m hoping to productise by Christmas this year – which, by the way, I transferred my database into SQL 2008 last night also… using the flawless SQL Server Copy Wizard.

This entry was posted in Applications, Development, General News, Microsoft, Servers, Technology, Web Development and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

